60

Our days may come to seventy years, or eighty, if our strength endures; yet the best of them are but trouble and sorrow, for they quickly pass, and we fly away.    Psalm 90:10

Old ManToday is my birthday. In previous years I could keep telling myself that 30 is the new 20, 40 is the new 30, etc.  Now that I’m here, 60 is just 60.  My doc put the fear in me over my current state of health, which is tough, because even after my double bypass I got back into cardio and weights.  Then a layoff and more major surgery.  The wheels have sort of come off.  With my scars I could get body double work on the next Frankenstein movie!

I know; there’s someone out there older than I thinking I’m stupid; 60 isn’t THAT old.

Yeah? Well, it’s the oldest I’ve ever been, so bear with me.

Honda 650 CB

’79 Honda 650CB

I remember having a motorcycle in my 20’s. I was visiting some church friends and there was this old guy there (62) who was admiring my ride.  I ended up talking him into going for a spin.  It was just a slow roll through the neighborhood, but when he got off you’d think he’d just done a jump with ol’ Knievel on the Vegas strip.

 

I know I can still hop on one and scream down the road. I don’t have one, because, well, have you seen how people drive these days?!?

honda-vtx-1800-foto-2014-2.jpg

The VTX 1800 I had till 2008

Fortunately, my mind feels a lot younger than my body. I still have the occasional “What IS it with kids these days??” moments, but it’s true.  When people tell me they don’t think I’m that old, I sometimes think they’re making a maturity comment.  Hey, I’ll take what I can get.

 

God has seen fit to open my eyes to a lot of things that I never knew about the Bible, history, and prophecy. There haven’t been any mystical revelations other than me continuing to stumble into resources that have taught me a ton!

I’ve been putting together a Sunday morning series, Creation to Completion, Genesis through Revelation, to portray the arc of history and on through prophecy.

Then the youth leader took a trip to Haiti with some of the youth, and he asked me to teach his class the last two Sundays for those that didn’t go. It was very short notice; the Thursday before!  So I figured I’d give C to C a trial run.

The kids have really gotten into it, and I pitched Chris on letting me continue it indefinitely. I hope and pray he says yes!  I’ve gotten excited, they’re excited, and I’m teaching them stuff that I wish I had known somewhere well before 60!

The thing is, while the body is winding down, I feel like my spiritual life is gearing up. I don’t feel old when I’m with these kids.  I get excited to give them a better start in really knowing God’s Word past the familiar Bible stories.

So here’s to 60. I could be wrong – I often am! – but I feel like God’s going to keep the ol’ machine sputtering along for a bit longer.  It might take some supernatural duct tape and super glue, but it seems I still have work to do; work that I’m really juiced about!!

HS-Students

Pay it forward!!

2 thoughts on “60

Your ideas are important too!

