Being There

My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.    John 17:20-21

TV_Teacher_logo_final__2_People have been telling me for years that automation, remote/online classes, and the internet are better than classrooms and live instructors. And even though that’s the way of things now, I still call bullshit on it all.  It isn’t an education.  It’s hoop-jumping to get a certificate to get a job.  Sure; you learn stuff, but a real education is about process and learning how to think!  It’s more than facts and figures.

facebook_twitter_updates_Social media. It can be a useful tool for staying in touch when miles come between you, loved ones, and friends.  It isn’t something I spend a lot of time on, though.  It can be a barrier as much as a communication line; insecurity because someone appears to be cooler or having a better time than you.  We feel anger and frustration that someone seems to be showing off.  We get no body language or tone of voice to tell us the rest of the story.

Nothing replaces being there. I can prove it too.

Maserati

NOT on the selector list.  *sigh*

I’m factory rep.  Sales.  I have a company car, a company Amex card, and company cell phone.  I’m in the top tier of the rewards program at my chosen hotel chain.  It’s been years since I’ve had to pay for a hotel room on a vacation.  All that is just another way of saying that I don’t get to spend as much time at home as I do out of town.  Why?

 

No matter how much they bluster and promote online training for employees, companies know that when it really counts, being there is less expensive than losing the sale by remote. It costs a ton of money to keep a sales force on the road. Every time I get on a plane, I guarantee it’ll be $1000 minimum on my expense report that week; hotels, food, rental car, gas for it, and, of course, air fare.

surgery-heart

Angioplasty is for sissies

I had bypass surgery in 2003. During recovery I had the overwhelming need to see people in person.  Until I got to every one of my friends to hug them, smile with them, and talk to their faces I couldn’t rest.

 

That’s why Jesus came to earth as one of us. He’s not a remote God.  He came here to experience a life of perfection in a world of sin.  He wanted, needed to be here to identify with us first-hand.  He needed to be sin for us to redeem us from eternal damnation.  He wants us all to be there with Him for eternity.

He wants a perfect union with and between all of us and the Father; to all be one with Him. He wants to BE.  He wants us to BE.  Here and there.  He wants us all to fill the emptiness of life without Him in oneness with the Father.

Adam and Eve

Nothin’ but love…

I posted What Did They Do? In May.  I was wondering what they must have done in Eden.  No internet.  No music.  No games.  No sporting events.  No books.  No restaurants.  No amusement parks.  It was just them, the animals, and God.  In Eden.  No distractions.  Just a perfect garden, animals to play with, and the unfiltered presence of God to occupy their minds and time.  They filled their time with just…

 

Being There!

Your ideas are important too!

