A Cold Drink!

These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.    John 16:33

I read the headlines in the news, and I can’t help wondering just what is going on in thedepressed-girl-im-fine-lies-Favim_com-766188 world. Oh, I’m wondering rhetorically.  I know what’s going on; sin, death, the devil…the usual suspects.  Still, I can’t quite wrap my head around how people can conceive of doing they stuff they do.

School shooting in San Bernardino today.  It’s bad enough, killing the teacher, but he HAD to do it in front of little kids?!?  And hit two of them?

Bruce Jenner confirms sex reassignment surgery.  Guess what?  When a man has surgery to artificially replace male anatomy with female anatomy (drum roll, please) he’s still a man.  The preponderance of psychological trauma of that unexpected (?) result has caused the hospital that pioneered this operation to cease.  It causes too much harm.

Casey Anthony…  Someone is still talking about this?

China deploys 150,000 troops to its North Korean border in case Trump attacks and causes a refugee flood.

Syria gassing and fire-bombing its own people.

And the hits just keep on coming.

Then I remind myself of Jesus. He’s overcome the world, sin, death, and the devil.  He hung on the cross when it would’ve been so satisfying just to see the looks on their faces to come down.

PRICELESS!

Right up to this very second, we continue to let Him down, come groveling back, fully aware of what hypocrites we are, just wishing this would all be over, because we just…can’t…resist.

I’M SOOO SORRY! BUT THE NOOKIE WAS SOOO GOOD!!

He smiles, scoops us up, and forgives us. Again.

“Hey! This is what I did it for.  Just don’t give in next time, ok?  Make an effort.  Go and sin no more!”

It isn’t possible for me to screw up so badly that Jesus won’t forgive me when I really do repent, when I really do want to stop whatever it was I did. He’s a bottomless well of forgiveness, a cool drink of water from which we will never again thirst.

Even St. Paul, apostle to the Gentiles – that’s us – wailed over how he just couldn’t get it right.

19 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. 20 Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me…24 O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? 25 I thank God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!  Romans 7

Is the sin of the world getting to be too dispiriting? Is your own sin weighing too heavily?  Does it seem like there is no end to troubles?

If you don’t know Jesus already, call out to Him. Tell Him you’re troubles.  Tell Him you’re ready to have your life changed.  He’s right there.  He’ll hear you just fine.  Open your heart to Him, and let Him do His thing right there, down deep where you hurt the worst.  Let Him give you some of that Living Water that banishes your soul’s thirst.

That’s it, isn’t it? A long, cold pull of Forgiveness right off the cross.  It isn’t like He was going to stay up there forever, right?Green Wave

Your ideas are important too!

