Give Up!!

Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.  Be sober, be vigilant; because[a] your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.     1 Peter 5:6-8

My heritage is German. Immigrant Germans, to be precise.  We always pick ourselves up, work hard, give help but never ask for it, and never, ever give up.  Ever.

I was in Europe to meet with some colleagues from our corporation. One is German.  I commented on hard work, German heritage, etc.  He laughed.

“You think we Germans work hard? Jeff, we think you Americans are insane!”

Germans might be known for hard work, high engineering standards, and the rest, but only the really nuts, workaholics came to America.

Giving up control just isn’t in my DNA. That’s crazy in itself, since I don’t have that much, if I’m really honest with myself.  Giving up control and giving up on anything just has never been a serious option.

Guess what God wants all of us to do? Even me!  Give up.  Wave the white flag and surrender.  Let go of the steering wheel.  Let God steer.  No, that isn’t right; acknowledge that He already is and quit trying to grab the wheel.  I don’t think life includes power steering.  I doubt any of us could turn the wheel even if God let go.

Satan is always after us, like a prowling lion. Subtle is something he’s good at.

“You can handle this! God’s busy.  Show Him you are doing your best, that He can rely on you to do His will.”

Listen to that and watch the wheels come off!

I’ve learned that I really need to trust God in my job. I travel a lot, and plans often go out the window when someone cancels or someone else calls.  Whenever that happens, I’ve learned to just keep going and just wait for God to turn the wheel.  He always does.

I came into this week, hoping I’d have some time to visit a friend. I prayed to God to take care of the week.  I was giving it up to Him to run it how He wants without me trying to take charge.  Even if things started looking lousy, I prayed He’d give the strength to just go with His flow and not get upset.

In His mercy, it looks like I’ll make that visit this week. And still get home a day early!

I’m not saying I got what I wanted, because I was trying to be cooperative. You don’t make deals with God.  I am saying I made my request known and told God I’d accept what happens.  And I would have.

When you give up to God, things always go right. Maybe not always fun and what you’d like, but always right.

2 thoughts on “Give Up!!

Your ideas are important too!

