Uncaged

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.   John 16:33DSC_1777

We got a German shepherd when I was still in grade school. Dad named her Duchess.  She was still growing, less than a year old.  Having been abused, she wasn’t much of a puppy.  She simply hid under a bench in the back yard.  I literally had to drag her out from under there.  Playful?  She had no idea.

I don’t know what was done to her, but it couldn’t have been good. Yelling, beating, starving…whatever it was pretty well killed the puppy in her.

It’s amazing what love can do. We loved her, fed her, and taught her to play with us.

That was summer. When the first snowfall came, Mom held her indoors despite her begging to get let out to…go to the “bathroom.”  When we got home, out she went, and she just went nuts with joy, chasing snowflakes, rolling in the thin layer on the grass, trying to catch snowballs that exploded in her mouth.  It was a hoot!

The garage was just a couple feet away from our chain-link fence. There was plenty of room around the other three sides.  I taught her to play chase around the garage.  Once she had the hang of that, I started a round of chasing her.  She would look back to make sure I was following.  This time, however, I let her go, and I ran in the opposite direction.  Carefully coming around the last corner, I spied her looking back, expecting me to show up behind her.  She jumped in the air when shouted at her and then gave me one of those looks that convince you dogs can indeed laugh!

After that, she wanted to chase me to turn the tables on moi!

Duchess went from being caged to uncaged. Even with the physical door gone, she had been too scared to come out of the real cage of her fear.  She eventually came into the world when she knew she could trust us.

There were times she had to be scolded, got hurt doing something…usually in the basement. She HATED the vet.  And the vacuum cleaner.  Life was not always smooth sailing for her, but with her faithful humans smoothing the way, life was a whole lot better than it would have been otherwise.

As I mentioned in my last article, life is terminal. This is Satan’s planet right now, making it a real $h*t place to be much of the time.  We’ve all been abused and knocked around.  Some a whole lot more than others.  Either way, it’s hard to leave the cage even when the Jesus has opened the door.

God forgets sins. We remember them.

We know we deserve the cage. God loves us too much to care.

In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

That means there are still snowflakes to chase and garages to run around in this world.

Put your faith in God, accept Jesus, and ask the Holy Spirit to make His home in your heart. And, if you think chasing snow is fun, wait till you finally transition from being marginally alive here to fully alive with God!

2 thoughts on “Uncaged

  1. Wow. Jeff – that was just awesome. I have been feeling the weight of my past sins. Even though I know I am forgiven, Satan has really been reminding me lately how “bad” I was before I met Jesus. I’m glad to be reminded that Jesus brings me peace. Thanks for the great work!

    • Terri!!! I was thinking of you this week! Work has had me going west and north more than east so far this year. I haven’t been able to get anywhere near you. I’m very glad this was helpful to you. Honestly, I’m usually writing to myself, doing a little self-therapy. It’s surprising sometimes just how much we all share these experiences! I guess that’s why we are encouraged to “bear each others’ burdens.” Christianity is not a do it yourself project! Very good to hear from you. Keep on fighting the good fight!

Your ideas are important too!

