It’s OK

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”   Joshua 1:9

I’m sitting here in my office, looking out the window at the sunshine. I just had a good night’s sleep in a comfy bed next to my wife.  Food’s no problem…not at my weight.

“NORM! Whatcha up to?”

“My perfect weight if I was 6 foot 5.” From Cheers.

I have a good job, company car, two beautiful daughters, and a wonderful wife.

I shouldn’t have any of it. Like a lot of people, I suppose, I did stupid things when I was younger.  I doubt I even realize all of them.  My life could’ve taken a drastic turn anywhere along the way.  God has, for whatever reason, spared me the worst consequences of conscious decisions and just sheer stupidity.

He’s literally preserved my life four times when, by all rights, I should be dead. I get my physical makeup from The Shallow End of the Gene Pool.  Heart attack, double bypass, gangrene, and a really bad allergic reaction.  To my heart medicine.  Oh, the irony!

Why am I still alive? I don’t know, specifically.  I can only assume God isn’t done with me yet.  Maybe there are a whole string of little things He wants me to do before my dirt nap.  Maybe there’s one, big, glorious homerun ball to smash over the fence for Him.  I’d like that, but I’m thinking it’s more of the string of little things.

I mean, look at the size of my blog, right? But I’m still motivated to write, so I figure I’m still doing something He wants me to do.

I could bemoan my less than stellar physique, especially considering how healthy and strong I was right up to my bypass surgery. I could, and have been pretty upset…ok, bitter…about layoffs and foreclosure.  I’m still here, though, with a nice house, the aforementioned job, etc.

Like many people, I’ve had to wade through a fair amount of ka-ka to get here, and there’s no assurance there won’t be more. But here’s the thing –

It’s OK, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

This is Satan’s world. Everything in it is riddled with sin.  Life is terminal.  We start dying the moment we’re born.  But –

It’s OK, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

So I keep going, pieces falling off as I continue to rattle and clank down the road like the worst beater car you’ve ever seen. But –

It’s OK, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

The end of your body isn’t the end of your life when you walk with God and have Jesus in your heart. Death on earth is when the good times start.  Oh, I grant you some people go ugly, some in their sleep.  I’ve been close, and it can be painful.  But, having been that close to the grave four different times in four different ways, I know it’s not as bad as I’ve imagined before.  Not fun, but doable.

When my time comes, I’ll face it as best I can. How well will I actually do?  Can’t say.  But I can tell you this –

It’ll be OK, for the Lord, my God is with me wherever I go.

When your trials come, try to relax. Be one with Jesus and the Father.  Open your heart to the Holy Spirit.  When you feel yourself slipping away from this earth and this body just remember –

It’s OK, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

4 thoughts on “It’s OK

    • Thanks so much for stopping by. This is one verse that got me through the toughest of times. I have a few selected verses at the bottom of my daily prayer list. I think it’s great how you carried it with you on the field and the court!

Your ideas are important too!

