Do the Math

25 And behold, there was a man in Jerusalem whose name was Simeon, and this man was just and devout, waiting for the Consolation of Israel, and the Holy Spirit was upon him. 26 And it had been revealed to him by the Holy Spirit that he would not see death before he had seen the Lord’s Christ. 27 So he came by the Spirit into the temple. And when the parents brought in the Child Jesus, to do for Him according to the custom of the law, 28 he took Him up in his arms and blessed God…    Luke 2:25-28

Simeon crossed my mind this a afternoon. Luke records what we now know as The Song of Simeon in the verses following those above.  The first line is “Lord, now You are letting Your servant depart in peace, According to Your word;…”

In the King James it reads “Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peace…”

In other words, Simeon, after a long wait, is ready to die having now seen The Christ. God said he wouldn’t die until then.  That was the deal.

I would assume he told SOMEONE about this little arrangement; best friend, boss, high priest, etc. Whether he had this chat with God when old or young, he was old when he saw Jesus.  That leaves me wondering about something.

You see, if people in the temple knew about this little quid pro quo, why didn’t they do the math? There’s no evidence that anyone was filling more and more with anticipation as Simeon got grayer and more wrinkly.  No one was planning a reception.  No one was reviewing prophecy.  No one seems to have paid any attention at all.

Simeon indicated that he’s ready to die in his song of praise and thanks. Someone should’ve noticed that and gone frantic – “Holy frijoles!  Simeon’s dead.  The Christ has arrived and He must be really close by!!!

No one paid attention until Herod had a hissy fit over the Wise Men looking for a king, and he wasn’t it.

Like I said; no one did the math.

I’ve started doing the math in a couple of ways. I’m going to be 60 this year.  This is the first time I’ve started feeling old.  There’s no more “30 is the new 20,” “40 is the new 30,” etc.  Nope.  I’m just gonna be 60 years OLD!

The branches on my family tree all get “pruned” by about 70. Especially on my dad’s side.  I figure I should count on a maximum of 10 years before people start formally saying nice things about me.  God may want me sooner or maybe He likes paradise just the way it is a bit longer.  Who knows?

Whether it’s the end of the World coming or me just coming to an end in it, the math says I shouldn’t do anything stupid especially now. Stay the course, continue the race as St. Paul wrote.  I shouldn’t count on that many more years.

By the same token, the end of the world is officially 2000 years closer than it was when Jesus had a little chat about it with his disciples.

Do the math.

If you’re on track, don’t do anything stupid. Cross the finish line and claim your reward as St. Paul said.

If you aren’t right with God, if you have sinned, if you carry guilt over anything in your life, you need to search for Jesus. He’s as close as your next prayer.  Give yourself the opportunity to have your regrets taken care of by Him.  Give yourself the chance to fill the empty place I know is in your heart with the only Substance that will do the job.

Don’t hesitate. Don’t put it off like I did before almost dying of a heart attack.  I kept telling myself it was just a pulled muscle.  For weeks!  Talk about God REALLY not wanting me quite yet!

Don’t tell yourself you’ve been dealing with your pain for a while and can do it a while longer.

Once you do the math, you’ll realize that you might not have a while longer!

Your ideas are important too!

