Homeward Bound

For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.   Ephesians 6:12

I’ve seen some pretty spectacular places. I’ve driven through the heart of the Smoky Mountains and even took the Dragon’s Tail a couple times (Google it).  I grew up near Lake Erie and spent a fair amount of time in those waters.  I’ve driven through the beautiful desolation of west Texas and its panhandle.  My dad took my sister and I to watch a meteor shower with his astronomy club when we were young.

It’s a beautiful, natural world we live, considering that it’s lost something since the Fall of Adam and Eve. I can only imagine what it was before.  I can only imagine what awaits us!  If the Milky Way, the Alps, or the Grand Canyon takes your breath away, imagine how it will all look in a sinless, pristine state.

I had a friend who had a near death experience. His story was much like many other.  What he saw was so much more real than being here on earth!  Colors were brighter and music sweeter.

The world I see now has beauty, but things always get ruined by people. Control is a myth.  Governments and nation states are simply an accepted construct in our society.  Most places on earth have no such notions.  Europe and the USA are exceptions.  Are there any truly government controlled countries south of Texas?  Not when you consider the dangers of traveling across that border.

Afghanistan, Syria, and pick almost any “country” in Africa; they are more tribal than governmental.

Even in America government control is not what I was taught from an early age. Police are not necessarily your friends, the government is not necessarily here to help you, and our best chance of a happy life is, to quote a friend, fly above the weeds and below the radar insofar as getting noticed by the government goes.

Our true home awaits us. Earth has too much sin, too much fighting, too much disappointment.  We can barely deal with each other at times.  The spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places are too much for us. Just as in Daniel, God’s angels wage war all around us, doing their best to protect us.  This is, however, Satan’s place and time.  We all have a rough go here.

My heart is homeward bound. I no longer fear death.  I’ve been very close 3 times now; none were fun, but none were the horror I’ve imagined.  I know how my dear friend Dale Sheply died; his was a good leaving.  With so much danger and sin surrounding, prowling after us, I look forward to that time of transition from being alive to being ALIVE!

We’ll have the mansions Jesus left to prepare for us, and God Himself will be our light; no sun will be needed. Angels will sing, the saints will praise God, and we will walk in a new Earth.

In the meantime, I want to let others know that they can look forward to this too. I’d rather the people I know are there with me.  I’d want to see all of the smiling faces I know now be there smiling at me still.  So I try.  I try to set an example, I try to talk, I try to somehow let them all know there is a way to secure their future in that beautiful place with God.

My most earnest prayer is that we are all homeward bound!

Your ideas are important too!

