Nightmare!

“Comfort, yes, comfort My people!” Says your God. “Speak comfort to Jerusalem, and cry out to her, That her warfare is ended, That her iniquity is pardoned; For she has received from the Lord’s hand Double for all her sins.”   Isaiah 40:1-2

I had a nightmare last night. This is…unusual.  I know that I dream, but I rarely remember that I have, let alone what the dream was about.  Nightmares?  Rare, as far as I know.

So when my wife came running into the bedroom because of my screaming, you know it was a doozy. It’s hard to explain other than there were at least 1-2 people that I know in it.  They are not nice people (this was a nightmare, right?).  They were essentially trying to force their way into my life, but it was about not just forcing themselves into being present.  They wanted to change the way I think, my perception of reality.  I had agreed to speak to just one, as I couldn’t entirely escape.  He started holding me down while she piled on.  It was terrifying because I was unable to resist.

This is where that sleep paralysis joins the dream. I was fighting for control, trying with every ounce of energy I had to resist them,  to scream loud enough to be heard by someone.  My words kept slurring, and all I had was volume.

Enough to bring Julie running into the room to wake me up. Sweat, traumatic breathing and struggle to wake up.

Yesterday’s bible class covered the concept of comfort from God in Isaiah 40. The idea of God’s mercy and protection while we sleep came up.  So…was God trying to tell me something or was I just having the nocturnal version of a primal scream?  Was my brain just vomiting up some accumulated garbage it finally decided to get rid of?

All I know for certain is that warfare will eventually end. Conflict will cease.  Whatever suffering we endure here and now will end there and then in heaven.  God will comfort us better than a spouse responding to the screams from a nightmare.

We all have nightmares, waking or sleeping. Some are all too real, and screaming is about all we can do about it.  Hopefully, your screaming is directed in prayer to God; screaming for help, strength…for relief from the defecation-deluge that is life on earth, site of Satan’s temporary rule.  We’re under his despotic reign here on earth.  God is our life line, our way home.

Hang to it tightly. Give it a tug, if needed.  Help is coming.  The Good News is –

“Comfort, yes, comfort My people!” Says your God. “Speak comfort to Jerusalem, and cry out to her, That her warfare is ended…

Your ideas are important too!

