All Love, All the Time

…(love) bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  Love never fails…11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things…13 And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.   1 Corinthians 13, Selected Verses

I just finished listening to a podcast by my favorite writer, Caralyn, a.k.a. BeautyBeyondBones. Give a listen to Light in the Dark, and then let’s have a chat.  Go ahead.  I’ll wait.  https://www.patreon.com/beautybeyondbones/posts

What can we do in a world that is so dark? How do we assign any sort of understanding to this?  What’s the answer?  While Caralyn asked for input in trying to deal with this, I hope she realizes she already gave the answer starting at the 1:20 mark through 1:47.

Jesus loved. So should we.

I used to say things like “So and so should go to hell!” and so on. Haven’t done that for years.  I read an article about a guy who had a near-death experience, but it wasn’t one of those “go to the light” experiences.  Nope, he got a total-immersion preview of hell.  God told him to tell everyone and try to turn himself around.

He said it was so horrific that it would pain him if some even said “Go to hell” in jest.

So here’s the question about love – Could you have refrained telling Hitler to go to hell? Could you have loved Him?  Could you have prayed for his eternal soul?  No?  That’s the kind of love Jesus has.  That’s the kind of love Jesus tells us we MUST have.

That said, let’s break down the verses at the top.

“…(love) bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”  Even the Holocaust.

11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things…”  Like hate.  If we could strip away Hitler’s age and actions, if we could see the beautiful newborn baby, untouched by whatever demons that later turned his life into what we now know, could we love that baby?  Could we look at the adult Hitler with some combination of pity, horror, and, yes, love?  Could we somehow – as mature Christians – mourn his destruction that we could easily face ourselves?

13 And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.”

Nuff said…

4 thoughts on “All Love, All the Time

  1. The cross was a worse torture than any holocaust. I always felt uncomfortable telling people to go to hell even though I giggled when a talking button did it on the Simpsons. Your best points are primarily that hell is real and secondly to keep it emptier than it would be otherwise we should strive to see the godliness in even the most villainous n easy to despise characters amongst us. People don’t write off all catholics or Muslims for the part they played in the Holocaust either. We are all capable of appalling evil and wondrous good. The fact we are able to do any good at all is testimony only to the power of Christ’s compulsion

  2. Hey Jeff, wow this is so powerful. First, thank you for this thoughtful response. I always look forward to reading the wisdom that comes from your brain, and this did not disappoint. This post hit. me. hard. Seriously. When you dropped the “Hitler bomb,” that’s when it got real. Thinking about loving Hitler and praying for him … I realize I have a lot of work to do in the “love” department. Because you’re right…Jesus would have loved him and prayed for him. In fact, He DID…all the way to the cross. Eye-yi-yi…I have a lot of work to do. You’re right, the greatest of these IS love. This is going to stay with me for a long time. Very powerful. Thank you Jeff. Hope you have a relaxing and nice weekend. Big hugs to you and Julie xox

    • Well, this is what you got going in me. And when I write something like this, I’m talking to myself as much as anything. I’ve always had temper problems, although I’ve had a better time of it as I grow older. I have a lot of work to do too!! I also hope that linking to Patreon might help there too! As always, thank you for your kind words. All the best to you!

Your ideas are important too!

