Cheaper to Die

Numbers 35:21

…or in enmity he strikes him with his hand so that he dies, the one who struck him shall surely be put to death. He is a murderer. The avenger of blood shall put the murderer to death when he meets him.

I can’t recall exactly where I read this recently – I think in “When Everything Became War, and the Military Became Everything” – but I found it disturbing. When killing people becomes more economically feasible than keeping them alive, that’s when societies…no, governments will be able to practice population reduction with impunity; either wholesale or nipping away here and there.

Case in point: “Terminally ill mom, 33, was refused access to chemotherapy but told she could get suicide drugs for just $1.20 – despite wanting to prolong her life.” This is posted today in the London Daily Mail Online – http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3866118/Terminally-ill-mom-refused-access-chemotherapy-told-suicide-drugs-instead-wins-right-extend-life.html

If you’ve been with me for a while, you’ll know I’ve written a few articles on euthanasia and abortion –

  • Death with Dignity on 7/9/16
  • Making Euthanasia Fun! – 10/12/14 and again 7/9/16
  • No Right to Life?? – 4/4/16
  • I Love You Enough to Kill You – 10/12/14

Up until seeing this article, most everything I’ve read is about killing off the unborn or the elderly, two groups of people who have little voice in their own affairs. Of course, fighting with insurance companies is not a new story.  The article admits as much.

“’If everyone had a doctor who cared, no one would even consider ending their own life. 

‘Patients don’t know how to find that doctor or how to navigate the complicated health care system and they don’t have the tools or information they need.

‘They’re so tired and don’t have the strength to deal with the fight. Instead, they’ll take the assisted suicide option because it’s easier.’”

And cheaper. While withholding chemo, they offered to supply suicide drugs for the low, low price of $1.20!  You’d have to be Cah-RAZY to turn down a deal like that!  So before supplies run out, come down and see us at the Crazy Pharm!

Yeah, they realized how stupid this was looking, so “… when she put pressure on the firm and threatened to tell her story, (the) insurance bosses relented, approving the drug which may buy her more time.”

People, unfortunately, continue to buy into the slogans like “death with dignity.” They are drawn in by the siren song of being in control of their lives, of going out on “their terms.”

I can assure you that there is no dignity in death. As Shakespeare one observed, “I never heard a corpse ask how it got so cold.”  Regardless of the path, the end is always the same.  The path will be what it will be.  Even in an assisted suicide to circumvent death by cancer, cancer is the real origin of that death.  Suicide is another way of playing God, another way of playing Timekeeper in a game that is not ours to score.

“It’s MY life!”

Which came from…?

We continue to lie to ourselves, claiming rights that are not ours, claiming power we dare not usurp.

“The spread of assisted dying has reached Canada, Japan, Colombia and parts of Europe.

The Dutch government is looking into allowing the elderly to end their lives if they feel they have ‘completed life’ despite not suffering from terminal illnesses.”

A completed life. Excuse me, but just what the hell does that even mean?  Who among us knows the future?  Who among us knows that there isn’t some small, meaningful thing we can do or share with someone before God calls time?

Life isn’t dollars and cents, nor is it a game we have legitimate authority to control. It’s just that the liars would have us think so.  You know who their “dad” is, right?

John 8:44 [Full Chapter]

You are of your father the devil, and the desires of your father you want to do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own resources, for he is a liar and the father of it.

3 thoughts on “Cheaper to Die

    • Terri! I was just thinking about you this morning, and here I find your comment. Yes, terrifying it is (did I just sound like Yoda??)! But I’ve been thinking about death lately – the nature of it, the experience. I’ve been at death’s door 3 times, so I kind of know what it feels like to be heading down that road. I realized it isn’t death that I have nerves over; it’s how much it’ll hurt on the way. I know at some point that either medicine or “the system” will not help me. Even if it’s that system that has placed monetary value on lives that denies my fight for life, I think I’ll be OK. I know God has a place waiting for me. My time line should have ended in 2003 but for the skill of heart surgeons and the latest tech. Everything now is a gift, a bonus.

      I apologize for not staying in touch better. I’ve been so consumed by work and travel, spare is getting harder to find, so I’m very glad to hear from you like this! Now I have a cold to finish recovering from. Ah, the joys of air travel! Be well! Jeff

  1. Pingback: Told You So… | Jeffrey H. King's Blog

Your ideas are important too!

