Meaningless Work?

I’ve been having some frustration lately. Work continues to crowd into my private time, which has made keeping up with this blog a real challenge.  That depresses me, because I’ve had steady growth in readership, and now it’s slipping.

What is rewarding to me? Writing this blog and being part of this wonderful and loving blogging community.  I’m teaching Sunday morning bible classes again.  This time I’m teaching the youth class, instead of the adults like last time.  I think that’s much more important and rewarding; these are the ones who are at risk these days.

These are the things that make my life worthwhile; doing something to help other people make their lives better. If it’s a blog article I write or a comment on someone else’s, if another gets something from it, that’s all I ask for.  If I can get some of those teenagers at church to listen and hear just how real the bible is, if I can leave them with some nugget that sees them through, that’s all I ask.

But work keeps crowding out things that I think are more important. Am I living to work or working to live?  It’s feeling more like the former.

Then I got a gift last night; a friend told me how helpful I’d been in helping her with her blog and owning her story. That came at the most opportune moment!  I was despairing that my life was becoming less and less purposeful in the things that really matter.

Then I remembered something from the New Testament; St. Paul was a tent-maker by trade. As he pursued his travels across the Mediterranean, he paid his own way at all times.  He wanted to not be a burden to whatever church he was planting or visiting.

A tent-maker! What is that compared to being an Apostle?  I’d be tempted to say it’s nothing, but I’d be wrong.  He didn’t draw resources from his mission for himself.  He provided the example of personal responsibility.  He preached with both words and actions, however, humble.

So is my work as meaningless as it felt last night? I guess not!

Does your work feel meaningless at times? It isn’t –

Ecclesiastes 12

“Remember now your Creator in the days of your youth, Before the difficult days come, And the years draw near when you say, “I have no pleasure in them”:…

Remember your Creator before the silver cord is loosed,[a] Or the golden bowl is broken, Or the pitcher shattered at the fountain, Or the wheel broken at the well. 7 Then the dust will return to the earth as it was, And the spirit will return to God who gave it.

8 “Vanity of vanities,” says the Preacher, “All is vanity….

13 Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter:

Fear God and keep His commandments, For this is man’s all. 14 For God will bring every work into judgment, Including every secret thing, Whether good or evil.

Your ideas are important too!

