Going Home Day

Mark 10:8

And they two shall be one flesh: so then they are no more two, but one flesh.

Today is my favorite day of the week. No, Thursday isn’t it. TODAY is Going Home Day.  That’s always my favorite day of the week, regardless of the day on the calendar.

I am a factory rep who drives a bit more than most. I have a lot of weeks where I’m out Monday through Friday.  I spend more time in hotel rooms over the course of the year than I do in my own bed.

A company car and an expense account are just other ways of saying “You don’t get to go home tonight.” Yeah, I’m in the Spire Elite category with Holiday Inn.  I get upgrades to suites without even having to ask or pay for them.  I’m hot stuff.

You may have read my article last week about my vacation in New York City. Manhattan, to be precise.  That week was a thin slice of heaven for me.  It had nothing to do with New York either.  I was alone with my wife, Julie!   We weren’t on different work schedules.  I wasn’t on the road yet again without her.

Every night we went to bed together. Every morning we woke up together.  We did EVERYTHING together!  Do you know how rare that is when you travel like I do?

So I’m driving for me now; not for my company. I didn’t make it all the way home, but I’m two hours closer than I was yesterday.  I’ll be home by early afternoon Friday, which is plenty late enough.

You see, when you get married, the two become one flesh. It’s no fun being cut in two.  I prefer being whole.  With my Julie!

Your ideas are important too!

