Politics and Football

Mark 4

18 And these are they which are sown among thorns; such as hear the word, 19 And the cares of this world, and the deceitfulness of riches, and the lusts of other things entering in, choke the word, and it becometh unfruitful.

Football season is upon us. The preseason is almost over, and the games will start really being in earnest.

Ditto the upcoming presidential election. A bit over 2 months and the nation…well, actually a small percentage of the nation will vote for and select a new President.

I had no clue about football until running into a story here or there about the preseason games. I’ve always been an NFL fan.  I thought I’d really miss the games if I stopped getting TV on cable.  It turns out I don’t.

Ditto politics. I’ve been aware of the presidential race, but am not consumed by it.  I used to watch Fox news every night.  Now I spend much less time looking at the news.  I have a few web sites that I skim over.  Usually the headlines are enough to get the gist.  If I see something that I find intriguing, I’ll actually read the whole article.  The news is, by and large, much like any daytime soap opera.  Tune in once every week or two to catch up.  Outside of that, you haven’t missed much.

Do I care who becomes president? Not this time.  I’ve voted in every election since I could vote.  This year?  I’ll pass.  It’s like asking me do I want lethal injection or Ol’ Sparky?  The irony is that I haven’t even done anything wrong!

I’ve had more time to blog, more time to do either more important or more recreational things. I’ve had more time to engage my faith, because I’ve had more available brain space to do it with.

For me, at least, football and politics are two rather large areas that I have either tuned out of or drastically tuned down from. I don’t know that I’ll be able to completely unplug.  I don’t even know that that is the answer.  Christianity is not about hiding from the world, but living in it.  No, scratch that.  SHINING in it.

What might you unplug from, what distractions that offer no real gain for your time spent? What can you adjust in your life that will make you more fruitful?

Your ideas are important too!

