What to Say? How it Went!

Psalm 46:10

Be still, and know that I am God

What do you say to someone who has a gripe with God? What do you say to them when they are angry, even enraged over the suffering that their children are burdened with?  What do you say when their arguments make so much sense that you’re not sure you can enter the debate and answer their arguments and accusations?

I listened for a long while, knowing I couldn’t answer him cleanly, if it all. I listened, thinking that some of the platitudes we say to each other might only make him feel worse.  In the end, I told him I grieved with him and for him.  He would be in my prayers, and he has been.

But I still had no answers!

No brilliant, soul-saving wisdom came to me until I was on my day- long drive home last Wednesday. Psalm 46:10.  Be still.  Know that God is God.  He is God above all Gods.  If we understand Him and all there is, faith is unnecessary.  Relationships, loving unions happen only when trust is freely given in faith.

His reply came yesterday. The real problem, the real fear turned out to be deeper and more soul-searing than I had understood.  In his rage, in his sorrow over the plight of his children, he turned on God.  He stood up to the Creator and Supreme Ruler of the Universe and told Him just where He could stick His Creation.  He loudly and roundly rejected his Maker in terms you would expect from a warrior who has killed and has been wounded.

In retrospect, he fully realizes what he did. He thinks he has committed an unforgiveable sin and wrestles with the idea that his salvation has been nullified.  He believes he will likely spend eternity in hell.

Imagine my relief!!  He DOES indeed believe in God!  He’s worried about forgiveness!

I wrote to him that the only unforgiveable sin is that against the Holy Spirit, and he most certainly did not do that. His tirade was to the Father.  Not that that is a wise course of action.  Ever.  But our God, our Father gets it.    His children struggle, try, and fail.  They get angry over things they don’t understand.  He forgives them better than an earthly father ever could.

Matthew 7:9-11King James Version (KJV)

Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask bread, will he give him a stone? 10 Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent? 11 If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?

I furthermore pointed out that his very concern is the proof of it. If he had committed the sin against the Holy Spirit, say, as Pharaoh did in Exodus, God would have hardened his heart as He did Pharaoh’s.  He would not still be seeking and struggling.

He wrote me back to say he would consider this and other things I told him. I am glad that he will.  I was hoping for more, but sometimes we can hate our own sin so much, we are blinded by it to the point that we struggle with accepting what God is already holding out before us!

So I’ll continue to pray for “Joe.”  I’m asking you to pray for him too.

One thought on “What to Say? How it Went!

  1. Faith is connecting with Gods nature n nurturing its growth in us. Your experience reminds me of john donne wrestling with guilt over some rude poems he wrote to his secret wife. Praise God he moved a little closer to the light. Ironically one of our pastors was talking today how men r like warriors. We need to fight on our knees for our families spiritual and physical welfare

Your ideas are important too!

