What to Say?

1 Corinthians 2:2 [Full Chapter]

For I determined not to know any thing among you, save Jesus Christ, and him crucified.

I just met a new friend this week. He is a salesman for a customer company of mine; I’m his factory rep from my company.  We made a joint sales call, then I bought him lunch.  That’s when things got interesting.

We got to talking, and the subject turned to families, and finally religion.

It isn’t for me to get into his details here. I’ll say that he was a soldier in Desert Storm I under Pres. George H.W. Bush.  He killed a lot of people in company actions.  He couldn’t even guess how many (I didn’t ask); men, women, and children.  If you’ve seen “American Sniper” about Chris Kyle, you’ll understand he’s no monster.  Over there, everyone is a combatant.  Still, you and I can only guess what a headful of bees he has.

His family situation is horrible due to congenital health issues of two of his kids and his company discontinuing benefits on those specific conditions. Watching his kids suffer, he’d gotten to the point of showing God both middle fingers as well as his backside.  He could only absorb so much, and he cracked.

This poor guy is one tortured soul.

We talked for a long while, both in my car and the restaurant. He had a lot to say about just wanting to know the answers to a few questions about this “wonderful” world we live in.  Sometimes I couldn’t think of how to possibly answer his very concise thinking.  I sometimes thought of an answer, but could foresee the discussions downstream.

So I held my peace. I listened.  We parted, me without really saying much of anything other than I think he’s a good guy, I’m glad I met him, and look forward to working and talking with him more.

Yesterday was a long, 8 hour drive home. As usual, I had plenty to think about.  My thoughts drifted here and there, finally settling back on “Joe.”  I was trying to remember some of his issues and could see how complicated direct responses could get.  Maybe even aggravating!

Then it happened. The obvious answer.  God’s Word.

1 Corinthians 1:18-31 [Full Chapter]

For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding of the prudent. Where is the wise? where is the scribe? where is the disputer of this world? hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? …

Now how do I tell him this without really setting him off? What would you do?

I’ll tell you about it tomorrow, in large part because I’m waiting to see his response on the email chain we’ve had this afternoon.

And by the way, I’m NOT done with “Pirates of the Sacred Spiral” after 8 parts. It’s just slow going due to the technical nature of a lot of what I’m reading.  LOTS more to come there!

2 thoughts on “What to Say?

Your ideas are important too!

