She’s My Jewel

Proverbs 18:22

Whoso findeth a wife findeth a good thing, and obtaineth favour of the Lord.

That’s Julie, my wife. My best friend from high school collaborated with me to write a song for our wedding with that as the title.

We started into our fourth decade together earlier this year. The Jewel has lost none of her luster.  She shines brighter now than ever.

She’s my wife, my lover, my best friend, my helper, my healer, the mother of our children…and she cooks a mean lasagna!

She nursed me back to health after heart surgery, again after emergency surgery to save my life from a gangrene infection, and lastly – so far – when I had a bad reaction to one of my meds that almost put me into renal failure.

I kid her that she just sticks around for the insurance, but if that were the case, why does she keep helping me recover?

“I don’t know, Doc. I woke up and he was dead.  Are you sure you didn’t leave a sponge in him somewhere?”

She’s been a great mom.  She stayed home till they started school.  She played games with them, taught them to ask the librarian for help at the library to give them confidence, and did countless other activities with them to help them develop.  She’s always said that a parent’s job is to provide their children with good memories.  She lived that creed with our girls all the time.

I have an MFA. She got an associate’s.  One might ask why would two people with such disparate levels of education be attracted to each other.  It’s because she’s extremely smart.  She knows more about history than some PD’s.  She has a flair for decorating.  Our combined library fills about eight six foot shelving units.

Her recall of detail has always amazed me. I can’t always find my keys.

There have been fights; we haven’t always seen eye to eye and handled the problem well, but we always remained committed. Period.  It’s been worth the bad times as well as the good.  The bad are what grows you and makes the good even better.

I can’t imagine life now without her. I can’t imagine a house without her voice or smile.  It would be a hollow life.

Our anniversary this year passed months ago. Ditto her birthday.  So why am I writing this now?  I love her.  I don’t always say it as often as I should.  I don’t always tell her how much I appreciate her.  I could tell her privately, of course, but I remember when we were first dating.

I would send her flowers from time to time. I always sent them to the office where she works.  Why?  They smell sweeter when other people see you get them!

6 thoughts on “She’s My Jewel

  1. This is such a beautiful post and Both you and Julie are so lucky to have eachother so extremely SPECKtacular! Have a wonderful evening ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Your ideas are important too!

