The Good Stuff

Philippians 4:8

[ Meditate on These Things ] Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

Anybody out there ever work retail? How about food service?  Anything from fine dining to fast food.

Anyone live in a large city and have to contend with lots o‘ traffic? Expressways?  Ever look forward to an evening at home, but your mood is trashed by one or more drivers who can’t tell the difference between city streets and a NASCAR track?

People have become ruder and meaner over the years. Courtesy is a rare find.  Ditto manners.  When I go through a door to a store, in or out, I always look behind me to make sure I don’t drop the door closed on someone.  It’s an even bet on whether they say “Thank you.”  Or hold the door for you if it’s the other way around.

We’ve been told that we deserve this or that. It’s fashionable to complain about quality or service.  We’ve bought into the lie that being vocal in our criticisms get us what we want.

I’ve learned to get the best service, the best reaction from other people by just being nice. When I had bypass surgery, my resolve was to be the best patient they ever had.  If the nurse said this is your therapy, I went after it.  I joked with them.  They took great care of me, and gave me hugs when I was discharged.  I don’t think the rest who were all whiners was on such good terms.

I got the wrong breakfast sandwich the other day. I ordered one thing and got another.  I didn’t like it as well as my regular, but it wasn’t bad.  So I just ate that one.  I couldn’t see wasting the food or making the help run around to see where the process fell down.  It’s never happened there before, so I figured sometimes people make mistakes.

Pick your battles, people.

I travel a lot for my job. I eat alone all the time.  Sometimes I get lonely for some human contact outside of the work environment.  Last night I got a waitress in training at a sports bar.  She was my favorite type.  She engaged with me instead of just processing me.  She had a brilliant smile.  She laughed at my jokes and jabbed me back.  It was fun! I thanked her and gave her a generous tip.  I appreciate people who treat me like a person.

My night ended up better. She seemed to be having fun too.  Instead of being w=the whiners and downers society has been trying to turn us into, she and I enjoyed the Good Stuff.  Positive, happy, light and easy.

Whenever someone does a good job, whenever they make my day better because they were helpful, I always try to tell the manager, or whoever what a great employee he was. Why?

I refer you back to Philippians 4:8 up top.  It’s where you find the Good Stuff.

5 thoughts on “The Good Stuff

  1. Love this. So my mom picked me up some tea for me the other day and got the wrong brand…I had this moment where I was just ticked, I even literally spelled out the brand I wanted to her before she went to the grocery store…God jumped on my heart right then and there and said pretty much the same thing, ‘Pick your battles. What’s the big deal?’ Plus there are plenty of people who don’t ever get the luxury of getting a cup of tea, or having a loving mom to make a grocery run for them.

    • And there you go! I get those surges of anger too, but I just keep remembering how good it feels to make someone else feel good!

      You might have hear, “If this is my biggest problem today, I’m having a great day!”

      And the corollary – “not my circus; not my monkeys.” 🙂

Your ideas are important too!

