Why I Write

Hebrews 12:1

“Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,…”

I like a good story. Give me something to read.  Give me a good movie watch.  It seems to be that a lot of life’s answers can be found in movies.  There are also a lot of memorable lines and comebacks.

In one of the Alien movies, a male marine is harassing a female marine who is doing pull-ups.

“Hey, Vasquez! Aren’t you worried someone might mistake you for a man?”

“No. Aren’t you?”

Rim shot!

But instead of spending more time on those pleasures, I spend a fair amount of time in my home office writing blog articles. Right now the sun is shining, and it looks like a beautiful day.  Of course, this is Memphis, so unless you like oppressive heat and humidity…

So why do I write when there other things I could do? My answer came last night.  I posted an article, My Lousy Day.  I almost didn’t.  Who would want to listen to me moan over my rotten day?  How pitiful would that be?  But, I was in a mood and decided to let ‘er rip anyway.

The response was incredible! Mind you, I haven’t ever turned huge numbers on my site, although it’s growing steadily.  But it was a pretty active night for me!  Why?!?

The first indication of why is the way this blogging community saw one of their own having a rough go and came rushing to advise, encourage, commiserate, and show some love. I wrote in bad mood and went to bed in a good mood.  That’s thanks to our blogging community!

Some people were encouraged by my whining, because I at least ended it on a faithful, hopeful note.

Encouraged?!? By THAT?  Heck, sport fans, it was re-blogged at least once!

That’s why I write, my friends. Not to be catered too, but to contribute to our community.  I’m blessed to be a part of this community and to get to know you all.  I can be part of that cloud of witnesses Paul wrote about in his letter to the Hebrews.  I can show my faith in God and Jesus, and you can see where that takes me, whether you believe at this time or not.  I can encourage and help others with their tough times.

When this many people can come over and give me a lift over an article that was more cathartic than anything, my faith in the goodness that God has in each us is affirmed. The world is a sinful place and a lot of really bad things happen; witness last weekend.  I still believe kindness still thrives even if meanness makes the news.  I believe God still calls to us to be His, to be better people with Him than we can be alone.

All of you helped me remember this on a lousy day yesterday. I am humbled and grateful to be part of this community.  We few, we happy few; we Band of Bloggers!

9 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. The best articles I’ve read are those which are raw, ruddy and honest to the core. Keep it up my friend! Another friend from my blogging community came for a visit yesterday. She only lives about 40 minutes away. It was a great time of fellowship and encouragement.

Your ideas are important too!

