Mortality

I’m feeling it. I turn 59 on the 17th.  Tonight I read a blog from MakeItUltra about mortality and asking readers for their thoughts.  This isn’t going to fit nicely in a comment box, so here goes.

For those who haven’t been reading me for very long, I’ll catch you up. I’ve been married 31 years to Julie.  She’s been with me through the good and a whole poo-load of bad.  We have two adult daughters.  One has had health problems and lived with us most of her life.  The other decided atheism was more her thing and lives with him now.

I started out wanting to be rich and famous as an actor. I wanted to be able to walk into hospitals and make people’s day.  I wanted to accomplish things that would be remembered after I’m gone.  I’ve worked with movie stars, either when they were famous or before they got there.  That career choice, well, things happened and I did the right thing.  No regrets.  I have my memories.

My first screenplay was read by Dolly Parton’s Sandollar Productions. They didn’t pick it up, but getting read is a big deal.  I think I still have the rejection letter somewhere around here.  I self-published my first novel, and I’m just giving my second away to anyone who’s interested.

I’ve been very close to dead three times; double bypass, a gangrenous gall bladder that almost did me in, and a bad reaction to a medication that threatened renal failure. I’m hoping they make another Frankenstein movie; I could get work body-doubling the monster.

When things were good, they were great. I was able to take my family to London the week before Christmas, 2001, Rome a couple years later, and I surprised Julie by getting her a plane ticket to join me in Paris on a business trip, where we took a week’s vacation after the job was done.  I have some great memories.

I was laid off in the last economic downturn, went bankrupt, lost my house, and found myself scrounging the couch and anywhere else I could think to find change for gas.

Highs and lows, sport fans. Highs and lows.

Thirties were a piece of cake. I was in the best shape of my life in my early forties.  Right up to that double-bypass; cardio, weights…I was a beast.  Now I use my stomach to hold the remote when I watch TV.  What can I say?  Getting old isn’t for sissies.  I can no longer lie to myself that my sixties will be the new…I don’t know.  Pick a decade.

But those acting skills were well used as a church liturgist. You can do worse than do a special for God every week.  I was a college instructor and corporate trainer; I helped a lot of people make their lives better.  I remember the blond in her thirties who I convinced that she was indeed smart.  She died her hair back to her natural brown at the end of the term.  I helped someone else get past a glass ceiling in the corporate world.  I could’ve done worse.

When I look back down the corridor of my life, I see a lot of good memories with Julie and the girls. We had a lot of fun.  We gave the girls some big surprises and a lot of happy times.  Julie has always said the best thing you can give your kids are good memories.  She’s right.  Again.

I just have to point out that I was definitely right about the cream chocolate frosting on our wedding cake. It was beautiful and went down really well.

I’ve talked about God to people on airplanes, in restaurants, and even a curb. I’m still alive, so I guess He’s got a few more for me to talk to.  I’m getting to the point where I wonder how much longer this ride will last.  Remember; I get my physical makeup from the shallow end of the gene pool.  The world is going to hell in a hand basket, and, no, that isn’t some old guy having generation issues.  I’ve been alive then, and I’m alive now.  I can make the comparison.  You may have read some of my articles on the ever increasing Satanic influences these days.  It isn’t my imagination, even though I wish it was.

What do I think of mortality? Because of sin, not much.  Oh, it’s all I’ve ever known, like all of you.  I’m nervous about how my end will come.  I don’t eat outside or go on picnics; I don’t like sharing my food with critters.  Imagine how a pansy like me looks at death.  What makes it tolerable is…

…HOPE! Hebrews 11:a – “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the essence of things not seen.”  That’s the basis of my first novel, The Substance Hoped For.  It’s the basis for all of our lives!  Without hope, our mortality is a long, slow torture, trying to ignore the inevitable.  With hope, we know that mortality will be swallowed by immortality.

I will be greeted by Uncle Ellis, who taught me to pray better than anyone ever could. I’ll see Little Grandma, who pretty much raised me and my sisters.  I’ll see my dad, who I never really understood until years after he died.  We will all have the rest of eternity to forget about mortality, and bask in the bliss of a sunless light, the light of God Himself.

What do I think of mortality? Like a dog chained from birth, I think it’s ok, because it’s all I’ve ever known.  Even if that chain is digging into my neck.  But I saw my Master walk out the gate, and I caught just the briefest glimpse of…something.  Something I ‘d really like to explore with Him.  It may be difficult to leave the security of that chain in that little yard.  It may be pretty scary.

But I swear to you, I saw…something.

There you have it, Mr. Ultra. I hope it was worth the read.

32 thoughts on “Mortality

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a very full life, and that you’ve appreciated that life through both the highs and the lows. At 59, you probably have another 30-40 years ahead of you. I suspect there will be much joy despite the inevitable aging process, and I’m sure you’ll handle that with humor and grace. I’m a few years ahead of you, and despite my body telling me unequivocally over the last couple of years that I’m not 20 anymore, I’m still looking forward to the freedom of being a senior citizen. I especially love that I can pretty much say and do whatever I want, and wear whatever I want, and if it’s a little out of bounds by society’s standards, people just think I’ve become eccentric.

  2. I wonder if you read my blog, “Write Light” yesterday? It’s titled, “Work My Way to Heaven?”
    For about a third of it, I got off topic to tell of the evils of television and what it does to the brain. My husband was not pleased at 11:00 p.m. as I rehashed some of the research. lol
    I enjoyed your blog. God is on the move and apparently you’ve been in training for the next assignment and getting some rest. God bless.

    • Thank you – very kind to say. Everything we do has purpose at some point. Either God intended it or He at least made use of it. No experience is wasted unless we choose to.

      You’ve brought me the memory of how my grandmother used to knit and crochet all the time. When in Rome, we bought a very beautiful crochet from some nuns who made them to support their work. So inexpensive, I felt it a crime to pay list ,so I think we doubled it – for the quality and for God’s work.

      Thank you for sparking these memories!!

      • I love this post! I totally agree with your reply above where you say that Everything we do has a purpose at some point. I just have to keep reminding myself that God can use ALL my life – good choices, bad choices if I choose to let Him. He isn’t going to force me to give it over to Him. Your word picture of our lives being like a dog chained in a yard and not knowing any different really got me thinking and thank you for that. I found your blog through Make it Ultra and will be back to visit.

      • Good evening! Thank you so much for giving me a read and for your kind words. I’ve only ever wanted my writing to be useful to someone, so I’m glad this did something for you. I pray my work continues to benefit you!

      • Wise words, Jeffrey 🙂 I’m so thankful for and humbled by God’s gracious ability to transform my wasteful ways into undeserved possibilities! And so pleased to hear my blog has reminded you of your grandmother 🙂 Crafters often charge too little for their effort, so I’m sure the nuns appreciated your thoughtfulness to double their asking price. Toward a worthy cause, after all! 🙂 ♥ ❤

    • I would be honored. Truly. My constant prayer is that God will find SOMETHING that I write useful to others, Christian or not. If you want to re-blog it or anything else, please do! That’s one more link in the chain of God hopefully using my offerings! Thank you!!

      • I mentioned in Mortality that I’m just giving my 2nd novel to anyone who wants it. It’s a pay it forward story, and most of the events in it are loosely based on actual episodes in my life, either me directly or someone very close. If you can find me on Facebook, we can exchange emails privately and I’ll send you the pdf. My personal page is Jeffrey King, no “H.”

  3. Reblogged this on MakeItUltra™ and commented:
    Hi Everyone,

    Not long ago I wrote a post asking you to share your thoughts about your mortality. It turned out to be a heavy post for some of you. That being said, I always appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on MakeItUltra™. I am re-blogging this post by Jeffrey because he went above and beyond just a comment and a dedicated a post on his blog to respond. I very much enjoyed the insight he shared and I hope you will as well. Thank you Jeff!

    Sincerely,
    Eric

  4. Hi Jeffrey
    Hows it going my brother in Christ. ?
    Please send me your book the substance of things hoped for
    My address is 201 high road burpengary Queensland Australia 4505
    Thanks for inspiring me to live my life for Christ
    I consider that / living for others to be a life well lived
    Jah bless love Daniel 😁

      • minusthecynic@gmail.com. thanks for my free copy of the Tupperware. I am excited to read your work on the connection between faith and science. It has always been there it’s just not immediately obvious to those brainwashed by the evolutionary religion. Thanks for your support. A similar concept to your book has been explored in a holiday movie where someone tried to ban Christmas. We have faced this battle to keep Christmas carols in shops for live performance in my country too. In my birth country uk people have tried to ban carol singing door to door. It’s never been a major tradition in Australia but definitely it should be because it stirs the soul and spurs it on toward heaven

      • I just sent The Tupperware to you. It’s so sad that the UK wants to ban Christmas Caroling! That’s a classic image and great tradition! Christmas music is the best! My favorite genre! You might enjoy a book called The Exodus Case by Dr. Lennart Moller. You can find it on Amazon.

  5. A great life overall so far Mr. King. I noted that one of your children is atheist. Both of mine are. This troubles my heart. I am was saved 6 years ago. All is well with my soul even though the past was so dark.

Your ideas are important too!

