Why Worry?

25 “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on…31 “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”    Matthew 6:25, 31-34

Tomorrow my wife, Julie, and daughter, Hillary, will leave for Ohio. It’s one of their fun “chick trips” together to visit family up north.  I know they’ll have a good time.  They always do.

Julie and I worry, though. I’ve had a couple very scary close calls on the highway recently.  I was almost wiped out by a speeding semi-truck overturning on a curve on I-40 in the Smokies.  Coming at me, the trailer flipped onto the median barrier and started coming apart.  The roof of it swung onto my side of the freeway like a giant hand to swat me.  I gunned the engine to get past it before it got to my lane.  I had nowhere to swerve, being on a mountain.  So I worry about my ladies getting hit by some numb-nuts out there.

Julie’s worried about that sort of thing too. Except that she’s worried that if something happens to her, I won’t be able to deal with all of the stuff they both have (trust me; if saw it, you’d understand).  Then she realized, knowing me, that I’d likely just call a dumpster and chuck it all.  I told not to be silly; I’d stuff it into trash bags and take it all to Goodwill.  Why waste it?

Here’s the thing. I say worry is a good thing in this sort of situation.  It’s like taking the temperature of our marriage to see if we’re warm enough.  So to speak.  As guilt warns us of sin, so worry can give us a gauge on the health of our relationships.  I’ll say that this kind of worry is good for us.

“How,” you ask, “can he possibly say that in light of Matthew 6 above?”

Take a good look at verse 25. Jesus is telling people not to worry about themselves.  I submit that worry about others, or concern, if you will, is healthy so long as you turn over that concern to God.  Jesus was worried/concerned over His disciples and future followers of His Word.  That’s why He prayed for us all in John 17:6-26.  He cared and took that sort of worry to our Father.

If we worried less about our own problems and more about others’, I think we’d find ourselves getting what we need (not want) and doing OK. I think there would be less divorce if people worried more about their spouse than themselves.  I think the dating world would be infinitely better if people quit worrying about their looks and urges and more on being a good person toward another.

Why worry? Because it’s a gauge that will tell you what or who you love…and how much!

2 thoughts on “Why Worry?

  1. From the “Wife”:
    Ha! Thanks you for the gospel verses though…sometimes it is hard to remember to place my trust in God and leave matters to Him.
    Isaiah 49:16 See, I have carved you on the palms of my hands. You are continually before me.

  2. Definitely watch out for road hazards. I remember a time I was following my husband’s vehicle in my car (going to pick up daughter at college). A semi in front of my husband blew a tire, which then flew over my husband’s car and landed in the road between his car and mine. Fortunately, I was able to swerve. My husband told me later that when he looked in his rearview mirror, my car was up on two wheels. Glad I didn’t know that at the time.

Your ideas are important too!

