It Isn’t Enough!

“Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.”    Ephesians 6:13

I swing for the fence. Participating isn’t good enough.  I have to do more and better.  When I was a corporate trainer, staff compared billed tuition for classes.  I was either 2nd or 3rd my first year.  I had a reputation for having the lowest expense reports.  The physical therapist gingerly told me that I should try to walk around the unit once, maybe twice a day when I had double bypass in 2003.  I looked at her like she had to be kidding.

“Screw that! What’s the record?”

I’ve been madly in love with Mary Poppins/Julie Andrews my whole life, but when she said, “Enough is as good as a feast” I couldn’t help some slight disappointment.

More is better. Always.  I’ve ruined a few dinners getting carried away with my favorite spices, because I can’t seem to unlearn that.

When it comes to my faith in Jesus and wanting to be useful to Him and His children, whatever I’ve done in life isn’t enough.

I haven’t taken all of the opportunities I should have; slow on the draw some days. I pray and read the Bible every day.  I try to keep up on what is happening in the world and how it relates to prophecy and end times, just like Jesus told us to in Matthew 24.

I write this blog. I’ve put out more than 200 articles so far.  I normally get good responses to my writing, but I’m not a good marketer.  I hope my readership grows much more!

I’ve been everything from an acolyte to congregation president and everything in between. I’ve taught Bible classes on Sunday mornings and was liturgist for years in my last church.

I’m not bragging, folks. It all feels like nothing.  How many souls have come to Christ due to something, anything I’ve done?  I truly don’t know.  One?  Two?  I’ve tried to witness to atheists and marginal believers.  They disappeared back into the crowds where I met them.  Did anything happen?

I truly feel as though I’ve done nothing. I can only hope that the ripples from the pebbles I’ve dropped into the lives of others have yielded some good.

“Now he who plants and he who waters are one, and each one will receive his own reward according to his own labor.”   1 Corinthians 3:8

That’s my comfort; that something I did will eventually be harvested by someone else on the team. I pray that when I meet God, He welcomes me in: “Well done, good and faithful servant.”  Some go to the head table and some are in the back of the room.  I’ll take any small seat in the house, “For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God Than dwell in the tents of wickedness.”

“For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.”   2 Corinthians 5:10

One thought on “It Isn’t Enough!

Your ideas are important too!

