Many a Fear…

“21 And when they had preached the gospel to that city and made many disciples, they returned to Lystra, Iconium, and Antioch, 22 strengthening the souls of the disciples, exhorting them to continue in the faith, and saying, ‘We must through many tribulations enter the kingdom of God.’”   Acts 14;21-22

Fear. Let’s talk about this again.  A few posts back the general conclusion was that fear of just about anything can be reduced to fear of not having control.  Whether it’s a spider biting you or the plane you’re in crashing, when you can’t control it, you fear it.

However, I was reminded recently of another aspect of fear. It’s a quote I used as my own guide through fear.  I taught my daughters to use it also.

“Many a fear is born of loneliness and fatigue.”

Whenever I found myself at wit’s end, afraid, or depressed I would say those words and ask myself three questions:

  1. Have I been too long between my own ears?
  2. Have I slept enough?
  3. Have I fed myself well enough?

Chances are I was on the wrong end of at least of those questions. When you maintain yourself well, there are those fears that simply disappear.  Others shrink.  Surprisingly few will remain, but you will have done the maintenance on yourself to meet those challenges.

I like the quote above, because it demonstrates how we should not try to fight our battles alone. We need like-, faith-minded company to keep us on track, to stop us from descending too far into our own minds.

Those early Christians shared everything; possessions, food, and whatever was needed. I would imagine that they not only exhorted each other in conversation, but over meals.  Eating together has long been a bonding experience, especially in Middle Eastern cultures.

Who has NOT gone to a church potluck dinner?

We need rest. Even Jesus took rest from His labors.  He rested the 7th day after Creation.  He would go off by Himself to recharge.  He even slept through a storm on the bottom of a boat out on The Sea of Galilee.

God made us to be together; man and wife, parents and children, friends and more friends. Especially in these days, we must not neglect to be with each other and support each other.  Without fear.

One thought on “Many a Fear…

  1. Pingback: Sharing “The Source of the Thought” | Jeffrey H. King's Blog

Your ideas are important too!

