Why I Called This Meeting…

“24 And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, 25 not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching.”   Hebrews 10:24-25

We’re busy. All of us.  Especially when I’m on the road, I’ll get up at 5:00am, be out the door within 30 minutes, and keep going till I’m in my hotel room and on the computer working as late as 9:30pm.  It’s just the way things continue to go.

Do more with less. Sales slump, so layoffs – excuse me, downsizing happens.  That becomes the new normal.  They don’t catch up on head count; hey, we’re doing OK.  Then more downsizing again at the next slump.

We’re all stretched thin. Whether it’s the extra hours, thankful we at least have a job, or carting the kids all over town for (activity here) there’s just not much spare time anymore.

So we sleep in Sunday morning. Think about reading the Bible.  Maybe say a prayer and figure that’s good enough.  God knows my heart.  It’ll be OK.  That becomes a habit.  Maybe a church elder will call to see where you’ve been…if he’s not too busy himself.

So we continue to lie to ourselves that it’s OK. We believe.  We’re a member somewhere.  We’ll make to heaven just fine.

Or not.

Once saved always saved is not truth. We can fall away.  We can be deceived and weaned off of God so slowly we don’t even feel it happening.  Not until we try to loosen our collar, because “Gosh it got hot all of a sudden.”

That’s why communing with other Christians is so important. We NEED each other to help us stay on track.  We NEED each other to understand the Bible, to teach each other what we’ve learned.  We’re like sheep in that there’s safety in numbers.  As a lone lamb in the field, we’re easy pickings.  In a group – with the Shepherd, I might add – we have a much better chance.

Church on Sunday mornings isn’t the only meeting place. There can be opportunities during the week, church related or not.  Since I’ve renewed my blogging efforts, I have become more engaged in the blogging Christian community, and you have all been a blessing!

I continue to learn new things from a twenty-something beauty who has survived anorexia. Her pain and torment have brought her much closer to God and a more intimate understanding of things than I have in many ways.  Another young lady is in the beginning stages of her rehab from anorexia.  She’s an incredibly brave soul, struggling but not surrendering.  Another conversed with me about a passage in Romans, as we both sought to understand each other’s interpretation as well as the epistle itself.

Today I met a quadriplegic who blogs about her life of faith. I can’t wait to read more there and learn from her.

So we meet as a Christian community on line. I still advocate going to church for in-person worship and edification, but you gather when and how you can.  You can’t get enough.

As for my new friends in the blogosphere, I applaud your contributions to the community. I thank you for your individual interactions with me and your efforts to “…assemble together.”

Your ideas are important too!

