Take the Field!!

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”   Joshua 1:9

I taught communications classes at a small private college years ago. One of the lessons had to do with body language.  I would have students walk toward a wall as if it wasn’t there, as if they could blow through it just by keeping their chest up and walking with purpose.  It’s a good habit to have, whether for an interview or living in downtown Detroit.

By the way, did you know it was originally a French outpost, and “Detroit” is a French word? It’s pronounced Day-twah.  Truly.  Someone told me it’s French for “Give me your wallet.”  I’m guessing that last one isn’t true, but the place sure could feel like it.

I lived in downtown Detroit near Wayne State just off Woodward for about two years. I never was mugged.  Ever.  Not even close.  Part of it was walking like I described above.  If you book along with a “you don’t want to screw with me” stride, it helps to keep you out of trouble.  You don’t look like an easy mark.

How do you go through life? Are you striding along, are you running out of the tunnel to take the field of contest?  Or are you peering out of that tunnel looking to see if the coast is clear?

Look at the simple quote above. God is with you wherever you go.  Anywhere, any place, any time.  You’ve got no reason to fear.

My high school’s mascot was a tiger. I couldn’t help thinking how cool it would be to walk around with a beautiful Bengal tiger on a heavy chain.  Partly because tigers are such magnificent animals.  The other part was the fact that I went to a racially charged school, and getting beat up was a fact of life.

It would have been so cool to walk into the stadium with a tiger!

“You want what, sucker? My wallet?  Hey, Paws!  This guy thinks he can get my wallet.”

“ROOOAAAARR!”

“That’s right, fool! All I want to see of you and posse is elbows and a$$h*l#s.”

That’s not too hard to envision, right? Then try this on; you are walking along without a tiger.  But you ARE walking along with God right over your shoulder.  Twice your size and eyes that could melt stone.

There are choices you can make, places you can go He’s warned you not to. He won’t protect you if you step out of bounds, but even then he’ll rescue you.  Just call.

What paths scare you? Unemployment, disease, relationships?  What scares you?  There are places we must travel.  No two ways about it.

He was there with Jesus in Gethsemane, and saw Him through Calvary. Do you think He can’t handle your trail?

Stride through your life confidently. You’ve got a God that’s with you wherever you go.

Even in Detroit.

Your ideas are important too!

