Friends

“You are my friends if you do what I command.”   John 15:14

I don’t have many friends. I moved to Memphis for a job that requires a lot of travel.  Time to make friends is scarce.  Plus, I’ve never been one to have a multitude of friends.  I tend toward quality, not quantity.

I realized today more than ever that you never really quite know who your friends are going to be until there’s that moment, that incident when he or she does what only a friend would do; support you, comfort you, and give that you that…something to get you past the barrier you are facing. Or they rejoice with you, cherishing what you are.  Nothing more.  A word.  A gesture.  A smile; even if it’s just a colon and parenthesis!

Jesus says that we are His friends, if we do what He commands. Love God completely, love your neighbor as you do yourself, because “All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”  That is a special thing.  All those friends are bound to each other in Christ.  This is the one friendship that gives quality and quantity!

That’s it. Not too lengthy today..  The morning started pretty rough.  Then a friend said something nice.  That left me feeling refreshed enough to at least face the day, if not tackle it.  Inspiration to write have been scarce, but tonight I feel satisfied.  And, even if it’s only a few lines, I just want to share a friendly moment with you.  Thanks for coming around.

3 thoughts on “Friends

  1. Pingback: Friends | Write Light

Your ideas are important too!

