Don’t Do It!!

“Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”   Isaiah 41:10

I’ve been seeing some specialty T-shirts advertised on Facebook lately. The first one that caught my eye is a quote from Frank Herbert’s Dune, which went on to be a respectable series. Here it is:

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. I will face my fear and let it pass through me. After the fear, there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”

When I first read this years ago, I thought it was a neat little mantra. After all, how often do we fear (worry about) things that never even happen? If things do go wrong, as they often do to a greater or lesser degree, fear is indeed the mind-killer.

Do you recall the Harrison Ford/Anne Heche movie, Six Days, Seven Nights? He’s a pilot she charters between islands. They get caught in a sudden storm and crash on a deserted island. Ford’s character thinks they’re on an island that has a beacon on a mountain top. They climb it, but no beacon. The peninsula on the north side of the island? Not there either.

Oops.

They really are up the proverbial creek without a paddle. Both are on the verge of losing it, and Heche tells him she needs him to be her strong captain. He responds with a line that goes something like, “I’m that captain. It wouldn’t do for me to run around screaming, ‘Oh sh**, we’re gonna die!’”

When fear takes hold, that’s exactly what we do. Gone is clear-headed reason. Fear is the mind-killer.

While Dune was a great piece of writing, as were its sequels, Frank Herbert got this one wrong. “Only I will remain?” I think not. We don’t have to fight fear alone. I AM is with us. He’s our chartered pilot, our strong captain who inspires confidence. He most certainly does not run around screaming ‘We’re gonna die!”

He just said, “I AM gonna die.” Then He did in the person of Jesus. “Ya’ll just wait here. I’ll be back in a…I’ll be back in three days.”

My job gets to be a bit much sometimes. Family problems loom, and I don’t always know how to help everyone anymore. Friends die. Really good ones. The world is going nuts. More than I ever thought I’d see. Say you are a Christian and see how that affects your social circle, that promotion possibility, the way people look at you. I never thought I’d find myself wanting to be careful about how I witness God’s Word.

There’s a lot to be afraid of these days. I’m getting older, and I wonder who will die next? Who will get cancer next? And will it be me?

“Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”   Isaiah 41:10

2 thoughts on “Don’t Do It!!

Your ideas are important too!

