Working the Playbook – Chapter & Verse

“Wait on the Lord. Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart. Wait, I say, on the Lord!“  Psalm 27:14

If you’ve read many of my posts, you know I’ve had some rough days. I’m more familiar with death’s door and hospitals than I’d care to be. Thanks to an economy that has been brutalized by greed and poor government, I’ve been laid off more than once.

I keep prayer list with several bible passages at the bottom to remind me of that which I so often forget. Like the Children of Israel, I can’t wait to get to the oasis. I’m tired of baked potatoes and melted cheese and feel I’m way overdue for some steak. I know how I feel, and I know when I’m ready for whatever my appetite is screaming at me.

I wanted a decent job so I can at least break even. Both my creditors and I were pretty sure we’re due.

God wasn’t. On any of these items, whether for me of the Israelites. Jesus sometimes told his disciples or family that His hour was not yet here.

“Just hold on. I’m coming. Wait for Me.”

“Be strong & of good courage; do not be afraid or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”   Joshua 1:9

So I hung on. For years. What did I do when God’s hour hadn’t come? What did I think when He sounded as silent as an open tomb? I listened to Him speaking through His holy Word. He told me – and still tells me – that He’s not just en route. He’s already here. It just isn’t yet time for Him to act. Maybe, as with St. Paul, the ultimate message is that He’s not going to act. Maybe He knows we need His strength, which is best seen in our weakness.

“Do not fret…because of the man who brings wicked schemes to pass. Cease from anger and forsake wrath. Do not fret – it only causes harm.” Psalm37: 7-8

But God! These REALLY MEAN people are ruining my life! Not only that, but they’re a lot better off than I am! When am I gonna get some justice here? When am I gonna see them get theirs? Or did you change sides on me? YOU’RE KILLIN’ ME HERE!!

Hushhhh…it’s coming. Even if you never see it. Don’t torture yourself with it. Just keep your own nose clean.

“The Lord shall preserve you from all evil; He shall preserve your soul.” Psalm 121:7

Sometimes…OK, most times I only think about the here and now. I forget about eternity and what’s really important here. He world is an evil place. It’s where we live. We’ll suffer from it. That doesn’t mean we’re ultimately defeated by it. We triumph eventually, because has redeemed our eternal souls!

“For I am persuaded that neither death nor life…will be able to separate us from the Love of God, which is in Christ Jesus.” Romans 8:38-39

Sometimes the world feels pretty darned lonely. Sometimes I swear I can feel the attacks of Satan and his minions. It scares me. Really. I wonder if I’ve managed to believe enough, done enough to make it through the pearly gates. I wonder of I’ll find myself cut off, separated.

Nope.

“Call upon Me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify Me.” Prov. 50:15

Someday finally came. I got that job. The bills started going away. I started to be my old self. It took almost two years just to start feeling healed. But even when I was still a bruised up puppy, I told everyone that God bailed me out. I just had to wait till it was His time. Once He delivered, well, credit where credit is due, right?

So these are the bible verse I keep at the bottom of my prayer list. I keep them close, because, quite frankly, I have lousy memory. I don’t just forget the verses. I forget the basic principles.

I have to just stick to the Playbook.

Your ideas are important too!

