Thanks for…Me!

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. 17 How precious to me are your thoughts,[a] God! How vast is the sum of them! 18 Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand… Psalm 139:13-18

I’m thankful for me. No, that’s not ego. That’s just me appreciating how well God engineered me. It has stood up, firstly, to sin. There’s a (dark) joke that life is fatal. It’s true. When it is written in Genesis that, due to sin, we will die, the translation literally reads “…dying, you will die.” In other words, we start dying at birth.

But look at how well we hold up! Look at what we are capable of! We can thread a needle and (potentially) lift hundreds of pounds with the same limbs. Speed, power, and grace all within the same frame. God has given us a brain through which our soul works within our body, creating physical structures as well as intellectual ones.

I’m a big fan of Dancing With the Stars. What amazes me is the human capacity to convey ideas and emotion through music and movement. The impact the performers can make on us is physical; laughter, tears, awe…

What sort of a marvel of engineering are we that we have such a capacity? Why did God do it? I think He just gets a hoot out of it when we use what He has given us to do such beautiful things. I think He enjoys watching us enjoy His gifts when we see them in each other.

And that’s just humanity. What about all of creation? Do you realize what a piece of work water is? It’s the only thing in the universe that expands when it gets cold and shrinks when it gets warm. If not for that, it couldn’t do its job in circulating heat around the planet.

After that is the sheer logistics of laying out our lives ahead of us. God is the Chess Master who can put together any scenario…and do it within our God-given capacity for free will.

Yup. I’m thankful for how well God has made me, despite the illnesses and brushes with death I’ve had. I’m thankful for my days and the other wonderfully created people in my life!!

3 thoughts on “Thanks for…Me!

Your ideas are important too!

