You are What You Eat

“Your ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness, yet they died.” John 6:49

When I was young I discovered peanut butter. Nectar of the gods. Like my Australian friends look at Veggie-Mite as mother’s milk, I saw peanut butter as the ultimate food. It could serve both as meal and condiment. There was NOTHING that didn’t go better with peanut butter! My parents even got me a peanut butter cookbook. We made peanut-freakin’-butter-ice-cream for cryin’ out loud!

I had a second cousin who liked to tease me that if I got cut, I’d just ooze peanut butter. I’d never bleed to death! Even after seeing him again after several decades of no contact, his first considered comments were to gig me on how I used to eat nothing but peanut butter.

Used to?

They say you are what you eat. I guess that’s why I looked kinda like a jar of the stuff when I was a kid. My oldest daughter had a thing for pureed carrots. As parents who approved of veggies, we indulged her. We did have to back off juuuuust a touch when she started turning a little orange.

PB & J, carrots, or whatever your favorite almighty food is, you are what you eat. And no matter whether it’s extremely healthy like peanut butter or marginal like carrots, you will die. Someday. Maybe not from what you’re eating, but you will die. I hate it when that happens…

Isn’t it interesting how the Bible tells us that we can’t live without dying first? The analogy is that it’s like a seed that is planted in the ground has to “die” before it can come back to life, sprout, and become what it was always supposed to be. I wonder if that’s where we got the expression of planting someone when they die. Is it based on the Christian knowledge that we are indeed only planted in order to sprout?

Well, we are what we eat. Look at the verses immediately following the opening verse above:

50 But here is the bread that comes down from heaven, which anyone may eat and not die. 51 I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats this bread will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.”

Are you getting this? We eat Jesus in Holy Communion. We eat His flesh and drink His blood. We become what we eat. We become Jesus (kind of). Not too far from what Jesus Himself said.

20 “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22 I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one— 23 I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity.” John 17:20-23

So we are one with Jesus as He is One with the Father. That’s the plan. That’s the goal. How do we get there? Back to verse 50 above.

But beware. God will not be mocked.

“28 Everyone ought to examine themselves before they eat of the bread and drink from the cup. 29 For those who eat and drink without discerning the body of Christ eat and drink judgment on themselves. 30 That is why many among you are weak and sick, and a number of you have fallen asleep.” I Corinthians 11:28-30

Eat and drink in faith, accepting Christ. Don’t think that going through the motions counts with God. It doesn’t.

But, if you participate in faith, well, think on it! You are what you eat – you are one with Christ!

One thought on “You are What You Eat

  1. Another good one…now I am hungry for PB! The only combination that I didn’t like with peanut butter was PB + onions. My grandmom lured me to try it….eewww.

    Blessings to you all for a great holiday weekend and go for the peanut butter!

Your ideas are important too!

