Easter Highway

“Behold, I will do a new thing, Now it shall spring forth; Shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness And rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43:19

Well, on this particular day of early Spring, there’s one thing that comes to mind. Yeah, you know it! It’s ORANGE BARREL SEASON!!

Traffic slows, people honk, use sign language, the whole enchilada. I-240 in Memphis has a stretch going south off of I-40 that’s been under construction for over two years now. I-475 on the north side of Toledo near the old DeVilbiss High School is in stasis after they ran out of money a few years ago. That one is permanently under construction. There was a stretch along I-40 heading toward Little Rock that I’m sure was besieged by barrels for a year and a half at least.

It takes a long time and a LOT of effort to make a road or highway. Sometimes when I’m zipping along yet another interstate, I can’t help reflecting how quickly and easily I’m moving along while hard-working folks didn’t lay it all down quite so fast.

Have you ever driven around Houston? Dallas? The overpasses are something to see. Ditto some parts of Little Rock. I’m grateful for the math geeks who figured out how to get it all in the right place! Yessir, it takes some doin’.

You and I are on a super highway. It’s I-Salvation. Goes direct from here to heaven. We are forgiven, the tolls paid for about 2000 years ago today, give or take. So we just zip right along.

It took a very long time to build. First, God had to draw up the plans as noted in Genesis. Then everything had to come together at the right time. The preparation and building lasted through Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. Moses and the Exodus were part of the construction. Read the Old Testament. The prophets had a very rough time of things. Israel ran into all sorts of construction delays – all self-imposed, by the way. It all came painfully. There was a lot of blood by a lot of people as they moved their part along…or maybe because they didn’t.

There are a bundle of off-ramps too – all unofficial. Like in Houston; rush hour traffic got you down? Can’t wait till you finally reach your exit? No problem. Just drive off and through the grass to the nearest side road. That’s a regular deal there. I know, because I saw them doing it. A lot. There are tracks where people have found the most advantageous places to just drive off the shoulder. We all can drive off God’s I-Salvation any time we choose. We can go through the grass or over the side of a bridge any time we wish. I personally don’t advise it, in Houston or on the God Road. But that’s free will for you…which will be in another blog entry later.

So Jesus capped off the whole construction project with His own crucifixion.

Today – He cut the ribbon! Welcome to I-Salvation!

What do you think? Are you still on the highway? Did you take an exit? Talk to us – I and other readers want to hear from you!

Your ideas are important too!

